Choose your country to see content specific to your location.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Jessica A

Tutor in Hatfield, Pretoria • 22 years old

Background Check
Background Check
chip background star 5.0
5 RATINGS
chip background 97
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

I am a dedicated scientist, who is busy making the world a better place. I enjoy passing on my love of science to the younger generation.

I have good social skills and am adaptable. I can work with anyone who has disabilities, as I am confident, kind, extremely patient and I do not mind explaining things multiple times. The artistic side of me assists in solving problems, and I use analogies to improve understanding of topics that students may struggle with.

Education

• 2016-present: Studying Biochemistry and Microbiology at the University of Pretoria
• Worked for Ampath as an intern in different departments
• 2 years Lab experience

My Proudest
Achievements

• Awarded a full scholarship at the University of Pretoria from the "Up with Science" program
• Was Dux learner (top learner) for my entire primary school period and half of my high school career
• Maintained my academics in the top ten students throughout high school

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Chemistry

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I am currently studying Biochemistry and doing second year Chemistry modules at university. I did a three year science related program to get a bursary, so I have a sound knowledge of Chemistry.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I am currently studying Biochemistry and Microbiology. I have a love for anything biological related. I worked for Ampath for a week.

Afrikaans

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I participated in Afrikaans redenaars and won Afrikaanse expo ATKV competitions. I am a fluent speaker and have won essay competitions.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I have participated in public speaking and I am a fluent English speaker. I won competitions for my written essays, and received 90% for English in Matric. I love reading in my spare time and I particularly enjoy Shakespeare and poetry.

Computer Skills

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I did Aim 102 in university. I have advanced knowledge of Word, Exel and PowerPoint and am confident in tutoring beginner-level computer skills - such as typing.

Physical Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I had first-year Physics as well. Great understanding of concepts.

Natural Science

Grade 1 - Grade 9

I am currently studying Biochemistry and Microbiology. I have a love for anything biological related. I have an in-depth understanding of this subject and would love to assist!

  • University Tutoring

Biology

First Year

I love Biology and have taken it as part of both my majors. I completed the courses and have past notes papers and summaries to make learning easier.

Chemistry

First Year - Second Year

I have past papers and can teach principles as well as lab skills for the following Chemistry modules: CMY 117, CMY 284, CMY 127, CMY 282

Biochemistry

First Year - Second Year

I am currently studying Biochemistry as my major. I have a firm understanding of the concepts, and have kept my own summaries and past papers to make learning easier for those I tutor.

Microbiology

First Year - Second Year

I am studying Microbiology as my dual major. I love microbes and will be able to explain the work. I also have experience working in an actual lab dealing with the practical side of it.

  • Life Skills

Public Speaking

Beginner - Advanced

I participated in both Afrikaans and English public speaking events and won multiple times. I also did Drama and Debating, and won multiple competitions.

Location

Jessica will travel up to 5km from Hatfield, Pretoria, Gauteng to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR