You're viewing our website for South Africa, but it looks like you're in South Africa. Switch to South Africa.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Kelly A

Tutor in Claremont, Cape Town • 20 years old

Background Check
Background Check
chip background star 5.0
3 RATINGS
chip background 29
HOURS TUTORED
Cannot tutor online
Can tutor in person
Cannot tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

An oddball academic/artistic combination who's excited to get back to tutoring. I can switch between soft and stern in an instant, an uncommon strategy that's had high success rates.

I've always had the ability to understand concepts quickly, and then explain them in ways that people can understand. This brought me closer to so many people, as I was always eager to help a classmate understand something. I've tutored others formally as well, and sought to make a greater difference in my community through leadership positions within The President's Award, and my high school.

Education

• 2015-2019, high-achieving student at Epworth High School for Girls.
• 2020-2021, currently studying to achieve my BSc in Computer Science and Computer Engineering at UCT.

My Proudest
Achievements

• I've competed in roughly 17 rounds of Maths, Accounting, English and Science Olympiads over five years.
• I've completed the Bronze and Silver standards of The President's Award, and have nearly finished Gold.
• I was Chairperson of The Pietermaritzburg President’s Award Youth Committee in 2019.

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Mathematics

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I've always loved and understood mathematics, and I have a passion for helping other people to understand it. I've participated in the Maths Olympiad five times, once coming in the top 100 pupils nationally. I was a Maths Peer Tutor in highschool, and I also took AP Mathematics.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I am a voracious reader, and that has translated to high proficiency in the English language. I am able to assist with all aspects of subject English, from grammar, comprehension & visual literacy skills, to essays and Shakespeare.

Accounting

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Financial maths and analysis has always come easily to me, and I thoroughly enjoy helping others understand. Continuing from high school, I've also taken Finance courses at UCT. I also participated in the Accounting Olympiad twice, and progressed to round two once.

Location

Kelly will travel up to 10km from Claremont, Cape Town, Western Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR