You're viewing our website for South Africa, but it looks like you're in South Africa. Switch to South Africa.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Kimmey-li Y

Tutor in Mowbray, Cape Town • 32 years old

Background Check
chip background star 5.0
1 RATING
chip background 43
HOURS TUTORED
chip background star 5.0
1 RATING
chip background 43
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

I am proudly South-African, and happy to help. Looking forward to leveraging my education to give the next generation of leaders a head start!

I'm a patient teacher, and understand that it is important to listen so as to avoid miscommunication. I enjoy helping others master a difficulty, or reach that "aha!" moment. When it comes to academics, I believe anyone can do it because a single human brain cell can store all the information of an A-type subject, so with a little support, anyone has the potential for greatness.

Education

• Studied at NWU in Potch: BSc Biochemistry & Physiology (2010), Hons in Biochemistry 2011, MSc in Biochemistry 2014. Love traveling - been to Mozambique, Zambia, Zanzibar, Italy, Croatia and Santorini.

My Proudest
Achievements

• Becoming godmother to my nephew; Completing my Masters degree in Biochemistry; Having very low grades in Gr 9, I set my mind on being part of the Top 10 academic achievers in my Grade, and the next year I was in 4th place;
• Becoming a part of my residence's soccer team at university.

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Afrikaans

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Afrikaans is my home language.

Physical Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Physical science, i.e. Physics and Chemistry were my favourite subjects at school.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

This is one of my favorite subjects, and the field in which I continued my studies at university.

Natural Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I understand this subject has elements of geography, biology, chemistry and physics, all of which I have experience in.

  • University Tutoring

Psychology

First Year

I got a distinction for first year introductory Psychology (PSIG 111).

Physiology

First Year - Third Year

Physiology was my major until third year. I enjoy teaching it to anyone who shows interest. I'm experienced in cardiovascular, neurological, respiratory,endocrine,excretory, immunological, reproductive, environmental, metabolic and muscle physiology.

Biochemistry

First Year - Third Year

I majored in Biochemistry, completed my honors and Masters in it. I'm experienced in biochemistry basics, enzimology, biomolecular interactions, molecular, metabolic and analytical biochemistry.

Location

Kimmey-li will travel up to 15km from Mowbray, Cape Town, Western Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR