You're viewing our website for South Africa, but it looks like you're in South Africa. Switch to South Africa.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Leila S

Tutor in Franschhoek, Franschhoek • 27 years old

Background Check
Background Check
chip background star 4.6
chip background 485
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person


I am passionate about learning and teaching a diverse range of subjects - and in so doing expand my own and others' horizons. My focus areas are Philosophy, Economics, History and English - and beyond

I am an excellent tutor because I wish to inspire a love of learning and an interest in the subject at hand. Having studied a diverse range of subjects and taught English as a Foreign Language, I understand the value of learning through practice, gaining a deeper understanding of topics through full engagement with a topic and its conceptual underpinnings, and cultivating a growth mindset.


• 2014 - 2016: B.A Philosophy, Politics, Economics
• 2017 - 2018: Honours Degree in Economics
• 2019 - 2020: Taught English as a Foreign Language (Korea)
• 2021: Post Graduate Certificate of Education (PGCE)

My Proudest

• Golden Key academic honorary society - top 15% of achievers in my given course.
• Honors Degree in Economics.
• Rewarded the Prof Sampie Terreblanche Prize for the best postgraduate research about inequality in the department.
• Taught English as a Foreign Language in South Korea for a year.


  • School Tutoring


Grade 1 - Grade 12

My mother tongue is English. I received awards for the best English language & literature student in high school. I love reading and have a passion for it. I worked as a TEFL teacher, so I have experience teaching and love helping others understand.


Grade 1 - Grade 10

Afrikaans being my second language, I am acquainted with all the aspects of Afrikaans both as a language and a school subject. My vocabulary is adequate for teaching second-language learners. I also achieved a distinction.


Grade 1 - Grade 10

I did well in Mathematics consistently throughout my schooling career. I took AP Maths and later Economics, exposing me to Mathematical problem-solving. I have a strong appreciation for problem-solving in Maths, and helping others to do the same.


Grade 1 - Grade 12

I had History in high school and university for one year. I love this subject. I am good at constructing arguments in the form of essays.


Grade 1 - Grade 8

I studied 1st year French in university. I have always excelled in French I wish to help others understand it better.

Physical Science

Grade 1 - Grade 9

I achieved high marks for Science up to the final year in high school. I have considerable knowledge and am more than capable of tutoring intermediate level Physical Science.


Grade 1 - Grade 10

I took a liking to this subject and understood the concepts explained. I did consistently well in Geography and feel I can pass on my enthusiasm.

Life Orientation

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I did very well in Life Orientation. I know how to use interesting methods to make the subject more understandable and enjoyable.


Grade 1 - Grade 12

I have done a number of Statistics courses or courses which involve Statistics at a university level. I am competent in my ability to assist others in their understanding of the subject.

  • University Tutoring


First Year - Third Year

I am very passionate about Philosophy and have consistently received good marks for this subject which was one of my undergraduate majors. I received three distinctions for Philosophy in my final year.


First Year - Second Year

Economics was one of my majors. I worked as a first-year Economics Tutor. I also completed my Honors in Economics, and I am currently doing my Masters in Economics. I have a strong grasp of, and interest in, the subject. I love tutoring Economics.

Information Systems

First Year

I still work with excel and other statistics programs. I am well acquainted with the subject and continue to use many of the skills I learned in Information Systems.


First Year - Third Year

I love writing essays, talking about current affairs, and examining political structures. I would love to tutor Politics. I also majored in Politics in my final undergraduate year.

  • Language Tutoring

Conversational English

Beginner - Advanced

I love the English language, enjoy teaching languages, and received the English language and literature awards in Matric. My experience as a TEFL teacher has also equipped me with much experience in this regard.


Leila will travel up to 30km from Franschhoek, Franschhoek, Western Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%