Choose your country to see content specific to your location.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Vanessa V

Tutor in Hillcrest, Hillcrest • 34 years old

Background Check
Background Check
chip background star 4.8
8 RATINGS
chip background 87
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

I am an experienced actuarial analyst, business owner & tutor. I completed a BSc (Hons) degree in Actuarial Science & Statistics (with distinction) & matriculated top of my class with 7 distinctions.

I enjoy the process of helping someone learn something new, and seeing the smile in their eye when a new concept is embraced is rewarding. I have patience, empathy & a sense of humor. I understand that individuals learn in different ways, and I enjoy exploring creative techniques that work best for the individual I am teaching. I go the extra mile and have been described as a great teacher.

Education

• 2004 - 2007 BsC Hons Actuarial Science & Mathematics
• Faculity & Institute of Actuaries Exams CT1 - 8, CA1, ST2
• Yoga Alliance Teacher Certification
• SADTA, Martha Graham & Broadway Dance Programs

My Proudest
Achievements

• Marrying the love of my life and starting our business together.
• Graduating from my actuarial studies at UCT with a first class pass
• Being awarded the opportunity to study dance in the US, Canada & South America

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Mathematics

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Mathematics formed part of my Actuarial & Statistics degree - it is my favourite subject to tutor & my specialty if I had to choose. I have significant experience tutoring the subject and have seen dramatic improvements in my student's results.

Additional Mathematics

Grade 1 - Grade 12

After being a top student in maths, I was put forward to be a part of the additional maths group at our school. I took it as a 7th subject and received a distinction. It is a great subject to prepare you for university mathematics. I can help you.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I thoroughly enjoy languages as they form the basis of communication. I enjoy reading and writing and have experience tutoring English as a school subject. Previous students of mine have seen a symbol change in their results. I can help you.

Accounting

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I studied accounting at university level, have experience in auditing financial reports, and developed an automated accounting system for a company I worked at for 6 years. I feel I have a good knowledge base to assist you in meeting your goals.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I find the science of living organisms and how they function very interesting . After studying biology at school, I continue to read medical articles with the latest information in the biological space. I can help you improve your understanding.

Afrikaans

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I enjoy reading Afrikaans books, & practice the language regularly speaking to family who are Afrikaans native speakers. I have tutored children on the school subject and seen improvements in their results. Let me help you achieve your goals.

Physical Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Physics & Chemistry were part of the subjects I selected for Grade 12. I received distinctions for both sections and thoroughly enjoyed learning the material. I can assist you in improving your results and confidence on the subject matter.

  • Language Tutoring

Spanish

Beginner

I lived in Spanish speaking countries (Mexico, Argentina & Chile) for over a year, where I was studying contemporary dance in Spanish. I have completed some conversational Spanish language courses, and have been involved in Spanish translation work.

Portuguese

Beginner

I am of Portuguese decent, both my parents were from Maderia (an island outside of Portugal). I was exposed to the language around the home and understand it comprehensively. I have also completed a language course in Portuguese.

Afrikaans

Beginner

Afrikaans was a requirement at school where I matriculated with a result of 95%, and most bilingual learner. I still enjoy reading Afrikaans books, & practice the language regularly speaking to family who are Afrikaans native speakers.

  • Other Soft Skills

Soft Skills

Introductory

I can assist with behavioral and psychological concerns. An example would be struggling with confidence at school. I have experience in mentoring and coaching at a corporate level, and have assisted in improving my student's confidence levels.

  • University Tutoring

Accounting

First Year

Accounting was a required subject for my Actuarial degree. I graduated with a distinction in the subject, and was awarded the class medal for top student in my first year. I can help you improve your accounting results.

Location

Vanessa will travel up to 15km from Hillcrest, Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR