Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Carmel R

Tutor in Illovo, Sandton • 29 years old

Background Check
Background Check
chip background star 4.9
10 RATINGS
chip background 109
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

My hobbies range from horse-riding to traveling to new countries. Despite my passion for extra-curricula activities, I also believe in balance and have maintained a strong academic grounding.

I have always loved learning new things, which I think is reflected in the range of subjects I tutor. In university I tutored, first teaching Arabic to adults, and then tutoring first year politics students as well as students with a weak academic background. I have an ability to collate, summarize and explain information that lends itself to most subjects.

Education

• 2009-2011 BA in Political Science and Arabic Language and Literature
• 2012 Honours in International Relations
• 2014 Masters in Public Policy Management at the Wits
• 2018-(current) PhD at Wits

My Proudest
Achievements

• Moving to SA in 2003 with no English background and finishing second in my Matric year in an English school in 2008
• Moving to Cape Town on my own in 2009 and thriving in a new city
• Moving to New York in 2013 to intern with an NGO at the United Nations

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Drama

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I enjoy Drama very much and have always been involved in Drama-related activities since pre-primary school. I am comfortable coaching both theory and practicals.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I have always enjoyed English and did very well in my IEB exams with a high A. I enjoyed both English Literature as well as Poetry, Grammar, and Creative Writing, and did well in all of those aspects. I also came first in my grade for English.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I took Biology right up to Matric and got a distinction in this subject at the IEB level.

Mathematics Literacy

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I came second in my grade for Maths Literacy at the IEB level and have tutored other students in this subject before.

History

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I came first in my grade for History and got an A+ for this subject for the Matric IEB exams.

Hebrew

Grade 1 - Grade 7

I grew up in Israel and learnt Hebrew there, furthermore I studied Hebrew in university and consistently came first in my class during each year of study.

  • University Tutoring

History

First Year

I took some first and second year courses in History at university.

  • Language Tutoring

Arabic

Beginner - Intermediate

I was raised in the Middle East, attending an Arabic primary school, then studying Arabic up to Matric level in South Africa, followed a university degree in Arabic Language and Literature. I work mostly with primary school students.

Location

Carmel will travel up to 5km from Illovo, Sandton, Gauteng to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Don't waste your time!

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR