Choose your country to see content specific to your location.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Tasneem D

Tutor in Athlone, Cape Town • 29 years old

Background Check
Background Check
chip background star 5.0
1 RATING
chip background 21
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

The 3 C's: community, culture and creativity. My values are based on spirituality and vocation.

I'm a good listener and observer. I encourage creative and independent thinking, as opposed to systematic and predictable thinking. I teach academic content in a way that broadens their perspectives on life. I tap into their mind processes, and I make real-life examples in the class.

Education

• 2011-2013: BA in English and Linguistics (UWC)
• 2015: TESOL (Cape Town TESOL Training Institute)
• 2017: PGCE in Method of Life Orientation and English (UWC)
• 5 year repertoire in writing and teaching

My Proudest
Achievements

• Becoming a playwright
• My traveling and teaching experiences in Asia.
• Being seen as a role model to others

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Life Orientation

Grade 1 - Grade 12

BA in English & Linguistics, with part-major in Psychology. PGCE with Method in Life Orientation and English at high school level. Experience in activism and community arts and news.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

BA in English & Linguistics; PGCE with Methods in English & LO. TESOL qualified. 18 months teaching for government and alternative schooling. Includes part-time contract with Oxford English Academy. 5 year repertoire as writer/editor.

  • Life Skills

Emotional Intelligence

Beginner - Advanced

28 years of life experience, which includes overcoming trauma and teaching in rural South Korea. Completed psycho-spiritual counseling and a 3-month personal empowerment program. BA includes Psychology modules. Activism in NGO's for SA marginalized.

  • Language Tutoring

Conversational English

Beginner - Advanced

TESOL qualified (2015). 2 years of EFL teaching experience; TaLK program in South Korea and Oxford English Academy in Cape Town. BA in English & Linguistics (2014) and PGCE in Method of English and LO (2017).

Arabic

Beginner - Intermediate

Reading and writing only. BA Arabic major 2nd year level. Additional conversational Arabic module as a part of an Islamic Studies enrichment course. 1 year Arabic tutoring experience with one teenager and a 7 year old.

Location

Tasneem will travel up to 30km from Athlone, Cape Town, Western Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR